26th Convocation at karunya on 9th july 2022

26th Convocation at karunya on 9th july 2022

The twenty sixth convocation function was held at Karunya Institute of Technology and Sciences  on 9th July 2022 at the Bro. DGS Dhinakaran Centre in the Institute Campus. Dr. Paul Dhinakaran, Chancellor, Karunya Institute of Technology and Sciences presided over the convocation and distributed the  certificates to the graduates.  The Chief Guest Shri. S. Somanath, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) & Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Space delivered the convocation address. 1698 students (UG –1295,   PG – 349, Ph.D. – 54) who have successfully completed B.Tech, MBA, B.Com, B.Sc. (Hons) Agriculture, B.Sc.(Hons) Horticulture, M.A., M.Sc., M.Tech, & Ph.D received the degrees. The Chancellor’s awards were given to Mr K. Sylvester Joanne, B.Tech (ECE), Mr. J. Prince Allen Jebakumar, M.Tech (VLSI Design), Mr. Jerrin K Dawny M.Sc. (Information Security and Digital Forensics) and Ms. E. Jeslina Sharon, B.Sc. Hons (Agriculture).

On this occasion, KITS honored Shri. S. Somanath, Chairman, ISRO and Prof. Colin Price, Head of the Environmental Studies Department, The Porter School of  the Environment and Earth Sciences, Tel Aviv University, Israel by conferring with the Degree of Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa).

Shri. S. Somanath, Chairman, ISRO highlighted the importance and achievements that are cherished by ISRO in the field of Space research and encouraged the students to aspire more towards nation building activities.

The graduating students of Karunya along with SEESHA have volunteered to donate Motorized Tri-cycle and wheel chairs to the differently abled people.  This noble gesture is in line with the vision of the Chancellor, Dr. Paul Dhinakaran to serve humanity with social concern by finding solutions to human problems in areas relating to Water, Food, Health Care and Energy through scientific, social and technological research.

The Vice Chancellor Dr. P. Mannar Jawahar, Pro Vice Chancellors   Dr. E. J. James and  Dr. Ridling Margaret Waller, and Registrar Dr. R. Elijah Blessing made elaborate arrangements.